Philpot Trophy 2018

Brentwood retained the Jim Philpot Trophy in the annual men’s competition against Brentwood-based Kings Chase on Thursday 30th August 2018.

In the past, the trophy was contested over two legs, one home and one away, but from last year, the format was changed to a single game hosted in turn by each club.

This year, it was the turn of Brentwood and no matter what the outcome, the hosts would have had cause to celebrate as Kings Chase had to borrow three players due to commitments in national and county competitions.

Four triples rinks were in play and Brentwood won on two, drew one and narrowly lost one with the overall score at 64 – 52.

The trophy was presented to Brentwood captain Fred Wasmuth by his Kings Chase counterpart Barry Sutton.

Fred wished the opposition success in their remaining competitions this season and said he looked forward to making the return visit for the Philpot Trophy competition next year.

Brentwood Teams: Ted Vidler, Rob Dellar, Richard Rose; Phil Carroll, Trevor Pedley, Keith Newberry; Ken Collins, Peter Wilson, Ron Lofts; Harry Everid, Roy Hewlett, Fred Wasmuth. James Nolan, Ian Kirby and Rob Funnell played for the visitors.

Next PostRead more articles