Ted Hasler Trophy winners

Eight teams from Brentwood Bowling Club took part in the annual Ted Hasler Trophy at King George’s Playing Fields on Saturday 8th September.

The mixed triples competition was won by Ron Lofts (skip), Rose Collins and Steve Shute who narrowly defeated Geoff Byatt (skip), Ken Collins and Jean Kaye.

Brentwood Bowling Club - Finalists in the Ted Hasler Trophy 2012
LEFT: Winners Ron Lofts, Rose Collins and Steve Shute. RIGHT: Runners-up Ken Collins, Jean Kaye and Geoff Byatt.

In the final, the eventual victors got off to a shaky start, conceding a point on the first of seven ends but drew level on the second and took the lead on the third. From then on, they stayed ahead, finishing just one point up on 5-4.

It was a tension-filled clash for players and spectators alike, especially the sixth end when the jack was taken to within a couple of inches of the ditch. Ron had a two-shot deficit when he took the mat and masterfully rolled in one of his distinctive red woods to up his team’s score to 5-3.

Geoff’s team hoped they had secured two shots on the next end which would have meant a draw, but a measure confirmed their fate and the possibility of an extra end play-off was averted.

The winners will receive the trophy at the annual presentation dinner on Saturday 3rd November.

The Ted Hasler Trophy was due to be played on Sunday 8th July but was postponed after torrential rain turned the club greens into mini-lakes.

Next PostRead more articles